Security Council & Egypt-Ethiopia Dam Dispute: Limits of the Role

Source: Egyptian Institute for Studies

Author(s): Essam Abdelshafy

Original Link:

The UN Security Council is one of the main organs on which the United Nations has relied since its foundation in 1945, as it is entrusted with the tasks of maintaining international peace and security. The Security Council consists of 15 members, including five permanent members (the United States, the People’s Republic of China, the Russian Federation. Britain, and France) and ten non-permanent members, that are usually selected every two years according to the world’s principal geographical regions. Due to the Security Council’s central significance within the framework of the United Nations system, its composition, procedures, tasks and roles have been addressed in three chapters within the United Nations Charter (Chapters VI, VII, and VIII).

Read more at original link

Skip to toolbar